Food Tax Coalition

2001-2005 Coalition 2009-2010 Coalition

Coalition Opposed to the Reimposition of the Food Tax 2009-2010*

Statewide Elected Officials**
Governor Bill Richardson
Lt. Governor Diane Denish
PRC Commissioner Jason Marks

State Senators**
Sen. Rod Adair
Sen. Sue Wilson Beffort
Sen. Carlos Cisneros
Sen. Dede Feldman
Sen. Stephen Fischmann
Sen. Mary Jane Garcia
Sen. Eric Griego
Sen. Tim Jennings
Sen. Cisco McSorley
Sen. Gerald Ortiz y Pino (also listed in Lt. Governor Candidates)
Sen. Nancy Rodriguez
Sen. John Ryan
Sen. William Sharer

State Representatives**
Rep. Elias Barela
Rep. Andrew J. Barreras
Rep. Ray Begaye
Rep. Jose Campos (also listed in Lt. Governor Candidates)
Rep. Gail Chasey
Rep. Eleanor Chavez
Rep. Ernest H. Chavez
Rep. Zachary J. Cook
Rep. Nathan Cote
Rep. Brian Egolf
Rep. Nora Espinoza
Rep. Dennis J. Kintigh
Speaker Ben Lujan
Rep. Antonio “Moe” Maestas
Rep. Dennis J. Roch
Rep. Benjamin Rodefer
Rep. Sheryl Williams Stapleton
Rep. Jeff Steinborn
Rep. Mimi Stewart
Rep. James Strickler
Rep. Thomas Taylor
Rep. Jack E. Thomas
Rep. Jeannette Wallace

Gubernatorial Candidates
Diane Denish, Lt. Governor and Democratic Candidate for Governor (also listed in Statewide Elected Officials)
Susana Martinez, Republican Candidate for Governor
Doug Turner, Republican Candidate for Governor
Allen Weh, Republican Candidate for Governor

Lt. Governor Candidates
Rep. Jose Campos, State Representative and Democratic Candidate for Lt. Governor (also listed in State Representatives)
Brian Colon, Democratic Candidate for Lt. Governor
JR Damron, Republican Candidate for Lt. Governor
Sen. Gerald Ortiz y Pino, State Senator and Democratic Candidate for Lt. Governor (also listed in State Senators)
Lawrence Rael, Democratic Candidate for Lt. Governor

Newspaper Editorial Endorsements
Carlsbad Current-Argus
Deming Headlight
Farmington Daily Times
Las Cruces Sun-News
Rio Grande Sun
Ruidoso News
Santa Fe New Mexican
Taos News

AARP New Mexico
Bread for World New Mexico
Farm to Table
La Montanita Co-op
League of Women Voters New Mexico
New Mexico Conference of Catholic Bishops
New Mexico Conference of Churches
New Mexico Farmers’ Marketing Association
New Mexico Food and Agriculture Policy Council
New Mexico Voices for Children
Rocky Mountain Farmers Union
Santa Fe Alliance business group
Santa Fe County Democratic Party
Silver City Food Co-op
Society of St. Vincent de Paul
Think New Mexico

*Listed individuals and organizations have expressed their opposition to an across-the-board tax on all food. Many support a targeted tax on candy and soda.

**Only included are those elected officials who have made statements to their constituents, the public, the media, or Think New Mexico about their opposition to the food tax. Blogger Joe Monahan has written that all Republicans are opposed to the food tax, but we have only listed the ones from whom we have received individual confirmation.

Coalition to Ax New Mexico’s Food Tax 2001-2005

New Mexico Farmers’ Marketing Association
New Mexico Farmers’ Union

Hispano Chamber of Commerce
Many New Mexico Grocers

Governor Bill Richardson
Lieutenant Governor Diane Denish
Land Commissioner Pat Lyons
Insurance Superintendent Eric Serna
Former Governor Gary Johnson
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Common Cause New Mexico
Gray Panthers
Hands Across Cultures
New Mexico Agency on Aging
Santa Fe Kiwanis Foundation

Cimarron Health Plan
Health Action New Mexico
Lovelace Health Systems
New Mexico BlueCross BlueShield
New Mexico Citizens for Physician Retention
Presbyterian Health Services

New Mexico Association of Food Banks
Albuquerque Roadrunner Food Bank
Clovis Food Bank
Farmington Echo Food Bank
Las Cruces Food Bank
McKinley County Food Bank
Santa Fe Food Depot

Center on Law and Poverty
Human Needs Coordinating Council
Hunger and Poverty Network

Archbishop Michael Sheehan
New Mexico Conference of Churches
New Mexico Family Council
Saint Francis Cathedral Peace & Social Justice Committee
Saint Vincent DePaul Society
Santa Fe Partnership for Social Justice

Print Friendly, PDF & Email